Vignoble Morou


Vignoble Morou is another Quebec winery south of Montreal in a town called Saint-Cyprien.  Who was Saint-Cyprien?  I have no idea.  I don’t even know what a “morou” is (though judging from the sign I’m guessing a bird).  What I do know is that Vignoble Morou’s owners, Suzanne Lebreque and Yvon Roy, were very nice and they had excellent wine.

Morou offered a good selection of reds, whites, a rose and an ice wine in their free tasting.  I felt kind of special because they JUST bottled a new variety, Acadie Blanc.  It was so tasty we bought a bottle, and they were very excited to sell a bottle so quickly.  Suzanne thought I was charming (or maybe she was just playing nice to sell wine; either way it worked) and asked if I was inspired by the movie about a woman taking pictures of a gnome.  Well, I’d never heard of it, so no, but now I want to see that movie.  Suzanne said it was a French movie.  Of course it was.

Since I’m in Quebec I’m trying to learn French.  I think this translates to “Monteregie Wine Trail”  Pretty good, huh? Yeah, not much of a stretch to figure that out.  I’ve since looked up the gnome movie and it was “Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain” or “Amelie,” as it was known to Anglophones around the world, with Audrey Tautou.  Apparently she mails gnomes around the world.  Seems cruel to me, but I’ll still watch it.

Leave a Reply

