La Ronde


La Ronde is an amusement park located on an island in the St. Lawrence river.  It was originally part of Expo ’67, which I guess was something like a world’s fair type of thing.  Despite being old enough to attend, I wasn’t near Montreal at the time.

This is poutine, which I’ve heard is the national food of Quebec.  Essentially it’s french fries with brown gravy and cheese curds.  This must be some sort of ploy for tourists to spend $8 on a plate of fries because it wasn’t worth the hype.  The gravy needed some flavor. Maybe they’re better if you’re not buying them in a big corporate amusement park.

*urp* my poutine is coming up just looking at this ride.

All amusement parks have height restrictions for rides.  Clearly the people who operate these places are racist against gnomes.  What did we ever do to warrant such hatred?

The view from a giant orange tower ride.  That’s Montreal in the far back.  The yellow and red ride is a roller coaster that was closed.  Also the ferris wheel is over there. This tower ride is sponsored by “Pizza! Pizza!”  Wish I had gotten pizza, pizza instead of poutine, poutine.

Still on the tower ride; it spins around as you ascend and descend.  The ride in the right behind me is Le Goliath and if you squint you can see Olympic Stadium on the other side of the St. Lawrence (Montreal hosted the Olympics in 1976.), which is where the Expos played baseball until they moved in the 1990s.

Remember that ferris wheel from the previous picture?  Now I’m on it!  That’s the Jacques Cartier bridge in the background, which is the only way to get to the La Ronde.  The purple and yellow ride is Le Vampire.  La Ronde is famous for their International Fireworks displays, which go off over this pond.  We missed the fireworks.

I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream!  Too bad this one was closed.

The merry-go-round in La Ronde is really old, like 1800s old, but still younger than me.  It was one of the few rides I was allowed to go on.  Roller coasters make me sick anyway.  At least that’s what I keep telling myself when they won’t let me on.

Wait for it….

….now.  Ladies and gentleman, Le Vampire.

2 thoughts on “La Ronde

  1. OMG Gnelson, you are so funny. I just loved the racist remark and your description of the junk food that the French Canadians serve. When I went to Expo back in 67, the F-Cs were refered to as pepsi’s, I guess that might be racist. But in the 60’s anything goes or should I say went.

Leave a Reply

