Chateau Ramezay


Voila!  It’s Gnelson Gnome at Chateau Ramezay in Vieux (old) Montreal!  At least that’s what I like to think this guy is saying. He sure is a happy looking chap, er, homme, as les Quebecois would say.  Chateau Ramezay used to be a home to several famous people in Montreal.  Now it’s a museum.

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

This is one of my favorite rooms in the whole building;  all hand carved wood walls, somehow connected to King Louis XVI of France.  There are also lots of paintings of many old dead white guys.  No gnomes though.

 

 

_______________________________________________________________________________

Sorry this is an odd angle, but I really liked the chandeliers.  Uh, I don’t have a boogey, do I?  You’d tell me if I did, wouldn’t you?

 

 

 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________

Meet my buddy Ben.  He lived in Chateau Ramezay while American’s occupied Montreal during the American Revolution.  Someone served him poutine so he didn’t stay very long.

 

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

You don’t see many tobacco store Indians anymore. Wonder if I’ll ever be on display in a museum someday… Seems a morbid thought, but I’ll bet this lovely lady never thought she would be getting oogled by tourists on a daily basis either.  You never know.

 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________

Now those are some serious mutton chops on this kid.  I admire them as much as I detest his Huckleberry Fin hat.

 

 

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________

What’re you doing behind that curtain, kid?!?!  The sign says “Smallpox”!  Get out of there!!!  My god, why would a museum have a room with smallpox in it?

 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________

Recognize this?  It’s a sink.  A little shallow for dishes, but it’s made out of stone and cool how it drains out of the back.  I would have hopped in for a bath, but it’s not Saturday yet.

 

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

*GASP*  They have a garden!  And a beautiful garden at that!!!  Flowers, vegetables and shrubs.  What more could a garden gnome want?  Well, a nearby brewery would be nice, but I won’t nitpick at this point.

2 thoughts on “Chateau Ramezay

Leave a Reply

