Harpoon Brewery – Windsor, VT


Astute readers will know that I visited the Harpoon Brewery in Boston not long ago.  When you visit either one they give you a book with a stamp in it.  Visit the other brewery within a year and they give you a glass; a challenge I’m happy to take up.  As if I need an excuse to visit a brewery and drink more (good) beer.  By the way, I’m a HUGE fan of Harpoon Cider, but Pumpkin Cider?  Hmmmm.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Pick a glass, any glass.  This is your sampling glass.  Treat it nicely and it will bring you much joy over the next hour.

___________________________________________________________________________________

The brew deck is where water, barley and hops come together to form wort, one step before it turns into beer.  The brewery in Windsor makes about 40% of Harpoon’s beer.  Can you guess what percentage is brewed in Boston?  C’mon, I know you can do it.

____________________________________________________________________________________

“Green beer.”  It’s neither St. Patrick’s Day nor is the beer actually green. Green beer means it just changed from wort to beer.  Kind of flat and cloudy, but still really tasty.  One of the great surprises about touring Harpoon was getting to sample beer right from a tank.

____________________________________________________________________________________

Were it, working this machine would be picking up bottles and putting them into boxes.  If that machine put me into a box the poor person who opened that box would find many empty beer bottles and one happy gnome.

____________________________________________________________________________________

Dear Rich & Dan:

If you guys need help drinking all of this beer please tell me where and when.  Me and my hollow leg will be there.

Love,

Gnelson

____________________________________________________________________________________

Still on tour and drinking more samples; full fledged Harpoon beer this time.  Yum yum.

___________________________________________________________________________________

What’s wrong with this picture?  Could it be that I’m standing in front of a dozen taps with an empty glass?  Yeah, I think that could be a problem.  Maybe my orange shirt blends in with the paint job a little too much.

___________________________________________________________________________________

I think I’ve died and gone to heaven!  Just open the orange handle above my head and let me do my thing.

____________________________________________________________________________________

Meet Kat, one of our tour guides along with Nick.  Not only was she nice enough to put me under the tap in the previous picture, she also carded me when I was getting on the tour.  It’s been centuries since someone asked for my ID.  Add Kat to the list of great people I’ve met at breweries.

Leave a Reply

