Saratoga Race Course


Horses have been racing here in Saratoga Springs, NY since the 1860s.  Today the meet runs six weeks from mid-July to Labor Day, every day except Tuesday, which is a “dark” day.   I prefer to visit the track on Sundays because there aren’t as many people and I don’t feel like I get lost in the crowd.

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

“Historic” is often used when people talk about the racetrack in Saratoga.  Movies have been filmed here, many notable people have made their way to the course and a monumental amount of horse poop has been spread around.

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

People from around the world come to visit the track, watch the races and drink really expensive bad beer.  $6 for a plastic cup of Coors Light?  I wouldn’t wash my feet with Coors Light.

 

 

________________________________________________________________________________

Of course one of the main reasons for visiting the Saratoga racetrack is betting on the horses.  Win, Place, Show, Trifecta, Quinilla, Daily Double, Box; it’s like a whole different language.  You can bet as little as a dollar or a whole lot more (NYRA would prefer the latter).  I don’t have a job so I only bet a dollar on the #6 horse to Win.

 

 

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

After placing your bet, head down to the “rail” (“fence” more accurately) to watch race and feel the thunder of horses running by you at breakneck speed; or trotting by at a leisurely gait, as was the case with my horse.  *sigh* So many other things I could have done with that dollar.

 

__________________________________________________________________________________

I like to visit the Paddock and see the horses walk around before they head out the track area and race.  I think that jockey is mugging in on my photo.  Jokes on him;  I didn’t bet on him and his horse.  Actually, jokes on me because he probably won and I probably lost another dollar.

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________________

You may keep comments about two horse’s asses in the same picture to yourself.

 

 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________

I’ve managed to live 458 years without a paying job and that’s just fine with me.  However, if I ever felt the urge to join the gainfully employed world I would apply for this one.  Standing in flowers, holding up a sign for passers by to read, what’s not to love?  This guy has a real height advantage over me though.

 

Leave a Reply

