The Frog & Onion Pub, Royal Naval Dockyard, Bermuda


See this?  I’m inside a stinky black backpack and this is where I spent every moment of my three days in Bermuda except for the times when I was in a picture you’ve already seen.  And THIS is why posting these photos is bittersweet for me.  Lili Bermuda Perfumery in St. George?  I was smelling a pair of bright yellow running sneakers, and they didn’t smell good. Bermuda Historical Society in Hamilton?  I was in this bag next a towel and not allowed out.  Bermuda Monetary Authority?  Yep,  hidden in the black bag.

______________________________________________________________________________

Bermuda Martime Museum with all of the cool items from the wreck of the Sea Venture?  Oh, never mind.  I don’t think I’m getting any sympathy here.  At least I was able to get out of that god-foresaken cloth prison for my last hour on Bermuda to enjoy the atmosphere inside the Frog & Onion Pub in Royal Naval Dockyard.  Not only do they make a very tasty Dark & Stormy (reasonably priced during happy hour), they also brew their own beer there and it was damn good.  Is there a picture of me enjoying a sample, like in other breweries?  Of course not.  Haven’t you been paying attention?

_______________________________________________________________________________

Meet Drew.  He was the man making the wonderful Dark & Stormys while we were there.  With two cruise ships in port that day, literally hundreds of feet away, both about to leave within hours, you know this place was packed with people getting in one last dose of Bermuda before heading back to reality.  Despite being crazy busy running the bar, no one had an empty glass for long and he did it all with a great sense of humor.  You ask can’t for more from a man running a bar.

______________________________________________________________________________

I TOLD you Drew was a funny guy!  I’ve had my picture taken with quite a few people over the last five months and no one has dared balance me on their head except this guy.  If you happen to be in Bermuda, be sure to stop in to the Frog & Onion for a couple beverages and say hi to Drew.  Tell him Gnelson sent you.  You won’t be sorry!

3 thoughts on “The Frog & Onion Pub, Royal Naval Dockyard, Bermuda

Leave a Reply

